Narrowband

SCT 6.3 reducer

I'm sure this has been discussed on SGL but I'm a newbie and couldn't find an answer when I searched .......

I want to get a 6.3 focal reducer for my 6" SCT. There seem to be 4 options

1. Celestron.
  2. Meade
  3. Antares
  4. Unbadged versions.

From what I can glean off the net, the Celestron is most expensive and works well, the Meade is OK but not quite as good as the Celestron, the Antares is cheaper and as good as the Celestron but the coating is delicate and the cheap unbranded ones are a bit of pot luck.

Has anyone got first hand experience of these?

Thanks, Jim.

I have recently bought the Celestron, which I am very pleased with. However, depending on your reasons for getting one, regardless of make, it may be less useful in a 6" SCT because of the smaller baffle size.

I'm not bothered much by the reduced focal length, it's the reduction in exposure times that I want. I don't have an auto-guider yet, I want to get my basic AP work as good as I can with what I've got before having to learn another "skill" :-)

I also have the Celestron. At one time it was recommended over the Meade for having more accurate threads, if I remember well, so that it screws on and off with more ease.

I like it. It reduces exposure time and field curvature.

And now throw this into the mix.....

http://www.mallincam.net/optical-accessories.html#oa06

And where would civilization be without.....? -

http://www.mallincam.net/uploads/2/6/9/1/26913006/focal_reduction_for_dummies.pdf

If you don't do anything else this year - do download a copy of the last link. And read it! :icon_eek: 

Ciao,

Dave

+1 for the Celestron FR I use it with my 9.25 helps get the moon and the sun in a low powered eyepiece! I've not used it for AP other than solar snaps. Great observing tool for everything but planets! Cannot vouch for the AP though as I've not used it for that purpose.