Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Itty bitty radio telescope

Hi all,

I'm currently thinking about getting in to Radio Astronomy and was thinking of building one of these to get me in to it and to learn the ropes a little bit so to speak I am a bit of a noob when it comes to radio things although I do have a radio scanner that I mess around with from time to time. I think I would most likely go for the SDR route. I was just wondering if anyone has built one of these? Also if you have, can you listen to Jupiter with it at all? I really want to listen to the sun also and start collecting my own data, what else do you think it would do?  :grin:

The design is here,

http://www.aoc.nrao.edu/epo/teachers/ittybitty/procedure.html

Thanks, 

Ozzy.  :smiley:

finished.jpg

Looks like a very interesting project. Unfortunately for me, your radio skills are way above mine but would be very interested to hear how you get on, quite fancy building one myself and even managed to salvage my sat dish when Sky came out to upgrade me earlier in the year. I'm not sure it's big enough but now you're making me think it might be.....

Thanks so much for your help! :) Richard & Robin.. I'll let you know how I get on Gaz! :D

Just another quick question if I was to build or buy an antenna to pick up the signal from Graves France From near Bristol... What would I need? 

Thanks again,

Austyn! :)

Just another quick question if I was to build or buy an antenna to pick up the signal from Graves France From near Bristol... What would I need? 

Thanks again,

Austyn! :)

Hi Austyn,