Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Absolute beginner looking for a scope

I am sure it has been covered here a thousand times before, but a brief one minute search showed different results than my query specifics.

I am looking for a telescope to drive out to the mountains with. My wife and I have never owned one before... Let alone used one. I have read a person should start with binoculars but I disagree with the idea of buying things twice. I would rather put the binocular money into the telescope fund.

Anyways, I am after the following;

Semi portable (have a small suv and would need to bring other gear)

Ease of use (if the learning curve is huge than my wife will give up)

Affordability- less than $500 CAD

I have read good things about the Dobsonians but they seem pretty large to carry around. We really want to see the moon and of course Mars and Saturn...Jupiter would be a treat. Please advise!

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi There,

You would be surprised at how portable a dob can be. If you have not seen them in the flesh I would go and see one and compare against a refractor.  All star have the 8" dob in for $465 CAD.. They can be found here :-- https://www.all-startelescope.com/about-us/maps-directions

The 8" skywatcher has a fierce reputation on SGL. The OTA would fit on the back seat.

Great location, love Alberta.

I believe the skywatcher skyliner 200p is the most recommended scope, without being too large or too small "just right" if you will. It's a dobsonian so the learning curve for the mechanics is tiny. I also am looking into getting something for the mountains/home, however I'm more into the DSO's which the larger dobs are good at. For planets specifically I'm not entirely sure.

Try to stick with dedicated astronomy retailers as their after sales service will be better if you have problems. Unfortunately I have heard that the mount and tripod is fairly wobbly, +1 for the dobsonian mounted scope.