SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Worth a clean?

Hi all,

Basically I'm pretty sure what people will say (don't bother/not worth the risks) but I would like a second/third/nth opinion.

I have been using this telescope (SW Evostar 120) for about 4 years and it has seen quite a lot of action! Over this time it has accumulated all sorts of dust/grime/pollen/other stuff and the thought of cleaning it has been nagging me. I don't think the dirt is affecting my images (no difference with older pics) so I'm not losing sleep over it. 

I have gone over the lens with an air blower but I have done nothing else but I was thinking of using the Baader wonder fluid.

If this was your scope, what would you do???

Thanks!  :smiley:

post-45364-0-57752200-1436306845_thumb.j

I would clean it especially if there is pollen on the objective.

Then again I am happy cleaning glass of any sort, do it to my glasses several times a day, usually with the lower end of my shirt.

+1 for cleaning the lens. If my windscreen is covered with dust or flies, I clean it. Photos of lenses are notoriously bad at showing the real condition of glass, and your picture shows more of a reflection than anything else..if you think there is a fair amount of dust/debris on the lens then careful cleaning with BWF makes sense to me..why allow even more to accumulate, possibly making it more risky to clean later on when more "stuff" then has to be dealt with?

Just my perspective:-)

Dave

Hmmm, now I am weighing things up again! It seems that opines are split down the middle.

In response to Dave Lloyd, I am not sure what the effect on the coatings would be. Does anyone know how soft they are on the SW Evo 120?

Also, when I am observing, I often tend to find a few new spots on the lenses that look like a clear residue. Not sure what they are but they have appeared on my glasses and it feels a bit sticky!  :icon_scratch: What are they???