Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Processing revisit. Let me know what you think :)

So this is the unofficial 45£ VS 240£ post process software challange.

I know it takes more skill than i posess to do an actual comparison of software, but i want to know what to spend my money on.

As i'm a beginner i think i'm just as well off with a 45£ software (StarTools) as a 240£ software (PixInsight)

The StarTools software demo did not allow me to save the image, so one of the images is a screeshoot. Both images are therefore rescaled to make it possible to make a comparison.

The first one has some more color depth with more variation of the blues, but i have processed out a lot oft the stars with noice reduction.

The second one has more detail in the nebulocity and the bright stars is not as bloated. The second one also has less vignetting and gradient in the uncropped image, but the ST80 has a lot of coma, so it needed cropping.

Here is the processed images.

post-42115-0-53757900-1436297460.jpg post-42115-0-09155600-1436297475.png

Both images is stacked in dss, processed in StarTools or PixInsight, and some final streaching / tweaking in GIMP

If anyone has the time, and want to spend it on some processing i would really like to see what someone else can do with the data :)

Here is the link to the stacked images (edited and autosave)

Anyhow, all tips and inputs are welcome :)

Your ST80 has done really well.

I like both images.

The nebulosity in the bottom one is nice.

From my limited goes each time I processed an image the output varied. Before making a choice maybe try a few more times I even went back and stacked differently.

Pixinsight has a built in stacker?

I chose startools as for the amount of time I was going to spend imaging the price fitted.

Your ST80 has done really well.

I like both images.

The nebulosity in the bottom one is nice.