Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First light with X2-C and LL

Ain Soph Aur

Hi folks. I am a new Lodestar X2-Mono and X2-Color owner and these are some of my newbie first light Lodestar Live images from last evening with the X2-C and a C80ED f/7.5 refractor. Skies were hazy and the moon was up in the East. I still have lots to learn!

M19:

M19_2015.7.5_22.58.26.png

Little Ghost Nebula NGC 6369:

NGC.6369_2015.7.5_23.09.06.png

Trifid nebula M20:

M20_2015.7.6_01.01.26.png

Lagoon nebula M8

M8_2015.7.6_01.12.09.png

Thanks Don. I am still learning but the curve is a little less steep with all the awesome folks here sharing their knowledge! And Paul makes its easy ;)

All of these images were taken with a very unaligned CGEM (I had to use the Orion Mini 50/162 with ASI120MM as an electronic finder) while I was sitting in the house RDC'd into my laptop out at the mount and controlling with Sky Tools. Amazing results all considering the skies, moon and mount.

My apologies for the dual post, I have not found any way to edit posts?

Great first light Bandon!

Just as a trick, if you adjust the Hue slider slightly to the right, the blue part of the Trifid nebula would jump out better. The red may become more of a magenta-red. But that's actually perfect. The red looking part of the Trifid is, in reality H-alpha emission overpowering a base blue reflection nebula. Use of a blue filter shows that the blue reflection part extends also to where the nebula appears red. Hue is the last slider that is marked with a circle with the three colors.

I don't want to hijack your thread but since you own a filter wheel, here is some motivation to use it at one point. Below are the images of the Trifid taken with blue and H-alpha filters. (You may have to click on the image to see it in full size.)

post-26379-0-62840000-1436212112_thumb.j