Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Gearing Up for Beginner Lunar AP

Hello SGL -- Having lurked here for a couple of years and having been interested in celestial navigation, digital (terrestrial) photography, and binocular stargazing (in an orange zone), I'd like to begin to explore lunar imaging and to a lesser degree wide-field AP -- and am trying to sort out where to start and what the path forward from there might be.

As a beginner, I encounter these kinds of options and was hoping to get feedback on these and alternative recommendations (with apologies for the number of questions!):

1. SkyWatcher AllView alone or with Polarie tracker? -- This appeals to me for its dual use capability as a panning camera mount, but also I note that the AllViewhas lunar tracking, though as an Alt-AZ cannot handle rotation.  For lunar imaging with this can I simply shoot multiple frames and/or video and use post processing software to automatically handle rotation? 
    Does it make any sense to use the AllView (assuming I can justify the purchase based on terrestrial use) as a tripod to mount a tracker like the Polarie (in this case I'd use the motorized mount simply to polar align)?  Or would I be just stacking up less stability?

http://www.skynews.ca/review-allview-mount/

2. iOptron SkyTracker vs. Vixen Polarie for Lunar -- The iOptron SkyTracker and Polarie both seem to get decent reviews up to moderate focal lengths, and the SkyTracker is significantly less expensive vs. Polarie with polar scope.  However, I notice that the Polarie has a lunar rate -- how important is this for lunar imaging and for what typeof lunar imaging?