Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron 70mm Travel Scope

Paz

I’ve been benefitting hugely from the reviews posted here so I thought I would make the effort to  start posting what I think of the things I’ve used. Here’s the first. I’ve been limited to using binoculars with a tripod until this week when I have joined the big league and borrowed my dad’s 70mm Celestron Travel Scope to try it out! This is the first telescope I’ve tried and I’m a beginner.

The telescope is small and light and comes in a rucksack with a light tripod. The one I’ve  used had 20mm, 10mm, and 4mm eyepieces, a 3x barlow, and a small finderscope. I’m not sure if the barlow and 4mm are part of the normal package or not.

I found it easy to set up and use. The views of the moon showed far more detail than I have seen in my binoculars and was super-bright to look at. There is a objective lense cover with a smaller cap you can take out to reduce the effective aperture – this helped a little to reduce brightness. The quality of the view holds up with the 20mm and 10mm eyepieces but the 4mm produces a more blurry picture and has very short eye relief. The barlow does what it is supposed to do but I found myself in the end just using the 20mm mostly and the 10mm sometimes and not using the barlow or the  4mm eyepiece.