SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Elephant's Trunk (IC1396) - Narrowband (HST)

strutsinaction

Hi

Finally got round to processing my IC1396 (Elephant's Trunk Nebula) data that I acquired a couple of weeks ago. This is my first attempt at mapping NB data to the HST palette. Quite tricky reining in the Ha (green channel) but I'm happy with the result.

Details:

Ha 12x600s, OIII 12x600s, SII 5x600s, all 1x1 binning, plus bias and flats. Processed with PI.

Regards

John

post-1421-0-38599700-1434316119_thumb.pn

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Lovely image John.

I use SCNR with practically every image and it is a staple process in my PI workflow.  I sometimes find that I need to use the HT tool to adjust the individual channels to better balance the NB colours for the popular palletes.  You have done a good job of eliminating the magenta hue with only a hint remaining.  There is also a process available (downloadable and installable script) for reducing magenta star colouring (often arises with NB colour combinations) - it uses a PixelMath formula.  Google 'Magenta Star Reduction.xpsm' and I'm sure you'll find it.  Alternatively, you can create a star mask, apply it and then use Colour Saturation to reduce the star colour saturation (can do the same with curves, reducing both hue and saturation).

Barry

Barry: Thanks for the info regarding 'magenta star reduction'. Looks like I need one more iteration before I put this target to bed!

A.G: Good point. This is where art and science converge and why I find this hobby so rewarding!

Regards

John

Thanks, Mick. I googled that last night. I appreciate that there's more to HST that just the standard SII->R, Ha->G and OIII->B mapping. Using PixelMath in PI can achieve a similar affect but it's far easier using Selective Colour in PS and moving sliders around  :smiley:

Regards

John