Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Astro imaging

Hi All,

Please help. I am new to this. I have a sky watcher 150P scope and a Nikon D3200 camera. When looking at moon I have a prefect picture but when I try and look at it on my PC or view it on the LCD screen it is totally black. What am I doing wrong?

Regards

Paul

Sorry Campy, much more detail needed:

"When looking at moon I have a prefect picture"  -  where are you seeing this, through the camera's viewfinder?

"view it on the LCD screen"  -  is this in Live View mode, or reviewing after making an exposure?

"look at it on my PC"  -  is this using a video lead from the camera, or what?

How is the camera attached to your 150P?

Michael

Are you looking at the Moon through an eyepiece and then putting a camera in and getting a black screen?  

It is likely the focus is completely different with the camera in place.  

I am not familiar with the Nikon, but I presume it has a live view function.  

Are you slightly nudging the position of the scope when you change from eyepiece to camera?

Carole 

Sorry, I am looking through the LCD screen / viewfinder and have a good picture. I have attached the camera to the telescope using a T2 ring and adaptor with a Barlow X2 lens fitted. After taking a picture I have looked at the picture through the LCD and attached the camera to my laptop with a USB /micro HDMI lead but all I see is a black picture. I have tried this in daylight and at night but still the same outcome.

Yes but when you have the camera attached to the scope are you then looking at live view/screen?  May sound stupid but I have done it myself have you taken the lens cover off the scope. You can look through the scope with an eyepiece and have everything in focus but when you attach the camera you would have to focus again as it will be out

So let me get this clear.  You are looking through your Viewfiender/at your LCD screen with a camera lens fitted?