Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Earth Observation GEO Refractor Telescope?

AerospaceAsh

Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to telescopes and optics.

I am curious Earth Observation GEO refractor telescopes. We have issues with magnification because of the atmosphere, Dawes' Limit, etc.

If I had a refractor telescope in GEO orbit looking back at the Earth, how many of these problems still stand? If I could get something large enough to produce, say 10000x magnifcation, assuming we could get the telescope up there, what's stopping it from being optically practical with such high magnifications?

E.g. Let's say I have an object diamter of 300mm, a focal length of 15000mm, f ratio 50, and an eyepiece focal length of 1.5mm ... that gives me 10000x magnification, power per inch aperture of 847, exit pupil of 0.03mm, true field of 0.005deg. Obviously we have a camera instead of an eye regarding exit pupil.

Is there an issue with such a step, e.g. power per inch aperture? I'm just looking for some sanity checking.

Thanks,

Ash

Is there an issue with such a step, e.g. power per inch aperture? I'm just looking for some sanity checking.

The telescope would still be subject to the basic physics of diffraction. Ultimately that would limit its resolving power.

It's my understanding that what we see (or what our cameras record) as a point is, in reality, an Airy disk with a bright centre that we call "the target" and a series of exceedingly dim concentric rings that for all intents and purposes are noy visible (though we see them when the telescope is purposely defocused). As the magnification gets higher - even when the telescope is perfectly focused, the central disk becomes a smaller part of the image and more of the light is dispersed into the rings. Hence there is a fundamental limit (set by the aperture) to a telescope's resolution.