SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First timer

Hi I'm a beginner sky viewer and it's been so exciting. I read that I should start out with astronomical binos. So I picked up Celestron 15x70's. They are great! I realized very soon after getting them that I want to get a telescope. Haha. I knew that would happen. Any suggestions for a first timer?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Star clusters, both open and globular, are the perfect targets for binoculars. Most of the Astronomy magazines have a monthly binocular viewing article, so you could pick up a magazine?

Or download Stellarium, and see what's up.

I would definitely recommend Stellarium as a nice, free starter prog.

Great selection on binoculars. I would also recommend the Celestron cometron 7x50 as a supplement to the 15x70 just for their lightness and wide FOV. I would suggest not rushing into the new scope. Research what you want, given your situation and money/time you want to invest for up to a year before actually purchasing. Nothing as bad as a great scope that doesn't get used. Don't overlook the importance of ease-of-use within your lifestyle.

Best,

Grant

Hi There,

Warm welcome to SGL. Great way to start with binos a you learn where things are in the sky and how to star hop. I would say before splashing out dollars, go to a local astro group meet and see what kit others have and what may suit you best.

Else post your budget here and we will gladly spend it for you in recommendations.. :grin:

Duplicate post??

Thanks guys! I will def check out Stellarium (can't wait to find out what that is. Ha!)

Astro group? There are groups? Oh how fun! I've been going to an observatory but I don't think that's a group. Diff docents and viewers every week. I'm like a sponge. Asking all kinds of questions. Yes. Sorry it is a duplicate post. It was my first time using this app. I clearly have earned the First Timer title!

:)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk