Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Questions about astroimaging (or cosmoimaging?) with high end CCDs: Sony A7s or Mallincam Universe?

ramdom

I'm new to this so please forgive my ignorance. I just got my first telescope (a Celestron AVX 9.25" SCT) and while my passion is high, I'm also finding I keep having to do things to make my experience better. There are so many things I could write about but my main point is that if I knew some of the things I know now then I'd have made different choices. As it is, I got a 6SE first and then returned it since it wasn't fulfilling my expectations. But visually I'm happy with the 9.25" and it's manageable even though I have to do several trips to strip it down and build it up.

Anyways, my lack of satisfaction comes from not seeing the nice images people are taking with their CCDs visually. I realised why a human eye can't see images like that and so a CCD-based solution is the only answer particularly before winter comes again.

So having decided that, I'm trying to get something that can take great images but can also work in NRT. So both sensitivity and specificity (detail) is what I'm looking for, ideally in one package. I'm willing to compromise a bit one way or another: either with image quality or what "real time" means (waiting a minute is fine---waiting hours isn't).

The Mallincam Universe seems to fit this bill---it has a large sensor with large pixel size and produces a "live image" that can be monitored. Since my interest is in DSO imaging, this would probably work.

In another forum, there was a reference to the Sony A7s (which I'm unable to access right now) and I checked it out and I'm intrigued but I'm also ignorant about DSLRs having been content with my phone camera until now.  This camera has a larger sensor and more pixels and can output/record in utra HD.