Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Brand new Nexstar 6SE - what accessories and eyepieces to invest in?

Greetings all,

I'm new to astronomy and just purchased a shiny new Nexstar 6SE. A basic 25mm EP was included in the box, and I've managed to get some interesting views of Jupiter, Saturn, Venus, and the moon, but for planetary observation I know this scope is capable of much much better than 60x. I don't want to go crazy on accessories, but I do want to maximize the enjoyment I get out of this scope.

I live in a fairly light-polluted suburb, and I'll probably have only limited opportunities to escape to dark skies now and then. So DSOs are probably less a priority for me than planets. I am also fully aware that the 6SE is far from ideal for astrophotography, so my assumption is that a few quality eyepieces will make me a happier person.

My first decision: Should I buy a Celestron Eyepiece and Filter Kit (http://www.celestron.com/browse-shop/astronomy/visual-accessories/eyepieces/125in-eyepiece-and-filter-kit) as a cheap way to get myself set up with most of the things I need? Or should I buy the Celestron Luminos 7mm eyepiece (http://www.celestron.com/browse-shop/astronomy/visual-accessories/eyepieces/luminos-7-mm-eyepiece) for close to the same amount of money? From what I've read the 7mm Luminos would be a good match for the 6SE - especially if my priority is to grab a quick peek at Saturn or Mars off the back deck. FWIW, I wear glasses, to an EP with long eye relief would be a lot more convenient. Is the Luminos worth the extra money over the X-Cel LX (http://www.celestron.com/browse-shop/astronomy/visual-accessories/eyepieces/x-cel-lx-7-mm-eyepiece)? And I'm not stuck on Celestron. Feel free to suggest other brands and models that occupy a similar point on the price/performance curve.