Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Trouble focussing barlow

Hi guys,

Hope someone can help me with this. I've been scoping now for a little over a month, so I'm fairly new to this. Whenever I use the 3x barlow that came with my Powerseeker 70eq I have difficulty focussing on Jupiter. The moon is no problem. I can almost see the dust in any crater on the moon, when I use the 4mm lens + 3x barlow. However, when I point the 3xbarlow + 4mm combination on Jupiter I can't seem to get a clear image. No matter how I turn the focus knob, the view of Jupiter and its moons is blurry at best. (Also, I find it annoying that turning the focus knob on my powerseeker makes the view shift.)

Am I doing something wrong? Or is this due to light pollution? Should I not be looking over rooftops? Or is this because of the chemtrails conspiracy (yes, I have bad sense of humor)? The 3xbarlow + 20mm combination is just fine.

Thanks, Eric.

PS English is my second language so please don't be annoyed by any mistakes.

Hello Eric. I suspect that the magnification produced by the combination of the 3x Barlow and 4mm eyepiece is too high for a clear view of Jupiter, the Moon is far more forgiving. Small movements of the Barlow lens rapidly changes the focus so more care is needed to adjust this. As with most things, practice will be a big help in due course.  :smiley:

Hi Peter and Paul,

Thanks for replying so quickly. So far this forum has been a great way of communicating. I'm glad that I found it.
I believe the English expression is "practice makes perfect", right? I have found that patience is a great asset when it comes to stargazing. I will try your suggestion, Paul. I'm really curious what kind of image this combination will provide.
Also, I like what you said Peter. "The moon is more forgiving." How poetic. :)

Thanks guys.

" the Moon is far more forgiving".