SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

M57 with a PS3 Eye webcam

Much better than my first two efforts but still a long way to go:

zx30as.jpg

30 minute avi of 10 second exposure frames taken in sharpcap. Split into frames in Virtualdub and stacked in DSS with 14 dark frames. Taken with PS3 Eye on a Skywatcher 130p mounted on an EQ5 with an RA motor. The only processing I've used is in DSS, I've tried GIMP but I'm still getting to grips with it.

Any feedback very welcome, this is what the stacked image looks like before processing:

osz8t1.jpg

I wouldn't have thought this is usual so any thoughts on that would be great too. Unfortunately these images are in JPeg format I can't seem too find a free image hoster that works with TIFF or PNG.

Very good; I'm new to all this so please forgive me if I'm asking a silly question, but I'm intrigued to know how you used the PS3 camera? i.e., where exactly does the PS3 camera go. I've got one loafing around somewhere & it never occurred to me before to use it for imaging. 

Hi Mike, you modify it much like other webcams, by screwing a 1.25" adapter into the M12 lens holder. It's a bit more of a faff ith the PS3 Eye as the lens is often glued into the M12 lens holder so you have to unscrew the M12 holder and put in a new one. I hope that makes sense. I'll message some links to you early next week when I get the chance. There is a driver you need to run it on a PC as well.

https://codelaboratories.com/products/eye/driver/

the driver can be buggy and crash occasionaly.

If you use another free capture package like Firecapture, can you go longer than 10 seconds?

The noise doesn't look bad on the final image to me, though i'm only looking on my phone. Are you using darks of the same exposure settings, and using the hot pixel detection and removal in DSS?

James

If you use another free capture package like Firecapture, can you go longer than 10 seconds?