Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Orion XT8 Dobsonian (First Telescope) advice needed

Hello all,

I am planning to buy a dobsonian 8" telescope (Orion XT8) as my starter scope. I am new to this hobby. I want to explore visual astronomy first and then after few months I would like to explore AP options. Here are my questions:

1) Is this a good beginner scope? I avoided 10" dob due to its dimensions and weight. I think I can manage 8" dob comfortably (based on its reviews and dimensions/weight)

2) I know dobsonians are not good for AP and I am not in a hurry to start AP. I wish to save some money for some months before buying equipment for AP. However, can I use the same 8" dob OTA on Eq mount later? If not, any advice on a good aperture OTA for future upgrade? 

3) Can I manage to take lunar and planetary images using this dob? (with a barlow?)

4) Finally, any recommended accessories to buy with this dob?

Thanks a lot!

Well, I am incredibly new to astronomy, but I will chime in while you’re waiting to hear from the pros. Yes you can mount a dob optical tube on an equatorial mount in the future; others will have experience with doing so and can give you the pros and cons. They also make equatorial bases for dobs, so that is an option also.

I love my 12” dob, but I am definitely looking forward to getting a smaller Newtonian that will be easier to move. So far I purchased a Giottos rocket blower to blow dirt and crud off the primary. My next purchase will be a steering knob and an eyepiece filter for reducing glare.

Hello all,

I am planning to buy a dobsonian 8" telescope (Orion XT8) as my starter scope. I am new to this hobby. I want to explore visual astronomy first and then after few months I would like to explore AP options. Here are my questions:

1) Is this a good beginner scope? I avoided 10" dob due to its dimensions and weight. I think I can manage 8" dob comfortably (based on its reviews and dimensions/weight)