Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

April 22 2015 - activity-fest

Helen

A few quick processes, like David testing ImPPG following Michael's primer.  Needs more time to experiment etc, but I need to go back to prepping for my University Viva tomorrow morning!!  Expect some reprocessing once that is over

post-374-0-44758400-1429711444_thumb.jpg

post-374-0-95703800-1429711536.jpg

post-374-0-38287700-1429711523_thumb.jpg

Helen

I spent most of the afternoon with my new Lunt 50 in my second ever visual session of the sun. I am still learning but obvious even to me was the significant variation in activity over the entire sphere. My view of the 'oak tree' outburst on the limb was spectacular. There were so many fine tendrils to it. I was quite shocked at how the seeing can change so dramatically too. One minute the surface was blurry, the next I could see tiny detail around the 'double spot'.

Glad you like it! Great shot!

Thanks Michael :smile:  I'm struggling to get the balance between surface and proms.  Any tips on upping the brightness of the prom without losing contrast on the disk?

Ta

Helen

Thanks Michael :smile:  I'm struggling to get the balance between surface and proms.  Any tips on upping the brightness of the prom without losing contrast on the disk?

Ta

Helen

That is always a battle. My part inverted shots are partly made for that. What I also do is produce curves that rise steeply from 0 at the REAL background level (lowest occupied level) to a reasonably high level at the sicule grey level, and then make a slightly concave curve from that point. In GIMP, it looks like this:

post-5655-0-86198000-1429780142_thumb.pn

Slightly off topic, but I'm sure the OP won't mind  :grin: .....