SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First Telescope help

Hi there, I'm a complete newby in terms of Astronomy, and the telescopes involved. All I know is the difference between a refractor and a reflector, and that aperture is very important. 

I've been looking for a telescope to start off with, and have done a few days of searching around and am now looking on forums for advice. The telescope I have in mind is a Skywatcher Skyliner 200p Dob, it looks pretty bulky but that doesn't bother me, as a little bit of extra information I'm not really interested in taking images. 

I'm just wondering if this a decent starting telescope, also, after doing some reading some people have said that different eyepieces are needed for this scope for planetary viewing. As my knowledge is rather limited, I'm looking for a bit of advice as to eyepieces also. Will definitely also take a good look at other recommendations for telescopes, my budget is around £350.

Thanks for any help in advance, really looking forward to taking the plunge into star gazing.

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The 200mm dob is a brilliant choice, it looks bulky, but when I first saw one physically for real, I was quite surprised at how small it looked (maybe just me). You will not go wrong with choosing this one and im sure many others will back me up on this.

You will get a 25 & 10mm eyepiece with the scope, these are okay EPs, I still have mine in my case. Only when you are actually out using the telescope and have used it a fair while, start looking at new EPs, theres no need to rush into things as you wont really know any different. I didn't buy any new ones until maybe 4-6months after I got my scope.

Also a very warm welcome to SGL.

Matt.

First off, welcome to SGL, we're a friendly bunch and are very willing to help each other.