SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

New mount or replace old mount?

Hi all,

So I dropped my mount off with one of the guys from Altair Astro (he lives in the same village as me) something was up with the motors i think. This is the old scope.

Anyway Im preparing for the worst, that I will need to get a new one. But Im in a bit of a dilemma.......... Do i replace it with the same one or upgrade ready for future scopes?

I haven't had to much experience with the scope as i only got my first one 4 months ago and the mount started going wrong not long after (it was second hand). Although Im new at this i have taken my first steps towards photography (pics in a previous post). I also like the goto mounts. 

I would say Im looking to spend no more that £500 although i just brought a car so the cheaper the better.

Any suggestion and advice would be great.

Adam

The Celestron Omni CG-4 is a handy EQ mount that will carry a good range of scopes suitable for visual and photography, not too expensive with dual axis or single axis motor drive, add a polar scope for precise alignment.  After that it starts getting big, heavy, and pricey with the HEQ5 Pro or NEQ6 Pro for more serious photography stuff.

Thanks for your replies so far.

Cheers, I totaly forgot about looking on ebay. That might be the way.

The Celestron Omni CG-4 is a handy EQ mount that will carry a good range of scopes suitable for visual and photography, not too expensive with dual axis or single axis motor drive, add a polar scope for precise alignment.  After that it starts getting big, heavy, and pricey with the HEQ5 Pro or NEQ6 Pro for more serious photography stuff.

Looks good and a nice price too. I had looked at eq mounts after reading up on astrophotography but didn't really know what to go for.