SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Switch from APT to BYEOS?

I've been using APT for many years now for astroimaging with a DSLR.  It's given me some great pictures.  I did originally try BYEOS but decided that APT gave me just a little bit more.  However, both programs have moved on since then and I've recently had cause to re-evaluate this decision.

Whilst both packages are excellent, I'm getting the feeling that APT's focus (no pun intended) is shifting a bit away from DSLR towards CCD and the development is concentrating less on improving core DSLR imaging features. 

Having looked again at a trial version of BYEOS I am struck by how it seems to have a more intuitive feel.  I particularly like the frame and focus, easy to use image preview, and screen stretch features which seem to be not as advanced or lacking in APT.

I know many other people have tried APT and BYEOS, what are you're experiences of the comparative merits of the two programs?

Thanks

Okay
After a couple of evenings testing I’ve concluded that neither program gives me everything I want.  Both bits of software are excellent and the differences between them are, I feel, one of emphasis.  For me, both have their strengths and weaknesses. 

BackyardEOS
Things I particularly like
• The whole interface is mostly easier to use and more intuitive than APT, with tools automatically appearing depending upon which screen you choose.
• The whole ‘frame and focus’ screen I think works particularly well.  With its simple ‘no save’ snap shot function; snap shot looping and user editable non-linear screen stretch; it’s pretty simple to use. (It would be even better if I could use the lens focussing controls whilst running a snap shot looping sequence)
• Preview button in the ‘Imaging’ screen.
• Plan editing is much simpler than in APT
• Very simple to access images for review
• Option for user ‘marking’ of subs (Good, moderate, poor, delete) as they come in (or later).

APT