Narrowband

Solar imaging questions

jambouk

I can't stand the processing side of imaging, it doesn't interest me and I'm not very good at it. Is processing solar images taken in Ha any easier than processing images of DSOs and the like, or just as tedious but in a different way?

Is there a simple guide to understanding Ha solar scopes on the web, as I can't find one. What I've learnt so far is to get as much aperture as possible, and ideally less than 0.5A. We'd be looking at imaging with either a DSLR or a mono QHY5ii. Budget under £2000.

Thanks for any help.

James

IMO much more straight forward.

I run the avi through Registax, this doesn't take long. I have a preset file for the wavelets (this give me a good starting point, and in fact is usually all I do), this is also handy for mosaics as they are all processed to exactly the same point.

In Photoshop I have an action saved which performs the same amount of unsharp mask (only a subtle change), and turns the image to a nice colour.

A few minutes per image tops. If I have a nice image that I want to process differently then I can. Have a look at my images (www.emberson.org), almost all my images are processed in this way. I'm happy with them.

Ant

Processing solar images is closer to planetary, I find. I find it more predictable, as you are focusing on a single object, rather than a huge variety of objects. Capture us far faster, and photons are plentiful.

I was thinking about writing a tutorial. Maybe I can make time for that the next cloudy period.