Narrowband

Upgrades for Mak 127 (diagonal and eyepiece)

I recently bought a Skywatcher 127 (Maksutov, FL=1500 mm, AP=127 mm). I got it since 1) it's small, and 2) watching planets sounds like fun. :) First I thought that I would try prime focus photography with it, but after looking at the moon and Jupiter using the kit eyepieces, I realised how cool direct observation is. :)

I'm new to astronomy, but not completely new to optics (I worked for a company building lasers some 10 years ago). I do like the physics part of this hobby (i.e. the math, and the actual hardware, so to speak :) ).

I have signed up to the local astronomy club, and have been to my first meeting there, and got a peek at Jupiter, Venus and Mars through their Celestron 11" Cassegrain. That was cool, although I was surprised at the amount of scatter their 'scope had (the 'scope's corrector lens was really dirty, but maybe the atmosphere was the culprit; I don't know).

I hope to go to a local "star party" when/if such an event is held. Otherwise, I might have a mini-star-party with some friends. Either way, I'd like to make the most out of it, so I've been thinking of upgrades for the €19 Skywatcher "SUPER RK" (Kellner) eyepieces and the €25 Teleskop Service diagonal mirror that came with the telescope. I did not get any manual describing this equipment, but found what has to be the same things here: mirror, SUPER RK 10 mm, SUPER RK 25 mm.

I read Al Nagler's Choosing an Eyepiece - Step by Step article (available as PDF from televue.com -> Eyepieces -> Advice -> Choosing Eyepieces (Advanced)). The advice to get one eyepiece to maximize (true) field of view felt sound, so I started there.

The maximum TFOV allowed by any telescope is (field stop)/(focal length) (source). (This is in radians; multiply by 180/π for degrees.) For 1.25" eyepieces, the maximal field stop is about 27.1 mm, which gives 27.1/1500*180/π ≈ 1.04° for the Skywatcher 127.