SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

A quick question on CCD LRGB imaging

Hi,

A quick question for the imaging pros out there, when I get round to doing some LRGB, with my Atik 414ex mono camera, as I live in a fairly light polluted area I have always used a very good LP filter with my DSLR, so to the question,

Do I still need to use a LP filter when imaging LRGB, with each coloured filter in turn ? Or not

Regards

AB

Short, answer yes. The only thing that is different in using the Baader LRGB filters is that they block IR. So yes, have the LPR filter at the front of your imaging train for for all filters.

I speak as if I am an expert, I am soon to start on the path of using a mono CCD. I am looking forward to being able to do Ha imaging when the moon is out :grin:

I would recommend a Hutech IDAS LP filter for LRGB work and for the Luminance channel, you can do away with the actual L filter as the IDAS has a built in IR filter but this will also stop the L channel from being parfocal with the others - a small price to pay!

Hi,

A quick question for the imaging pros out there, when I get round to doing some LRGB, with my Atik 414ex mono camera, as I live in a fairly light polluted area I have always used a very good LP filter with my DSLR, so to the question,

Do I still need to use a LP filter when imaging LRGB, with each coloured filter in turn ? Or not

Regards

AB

If your light pollution is heavy then there is no choice. I once voiced my concern over the enthusiasm of some of the members to convince newcomers to AP to do LRGB without consideration of the sky background ADU ( you really do need dark skies for LRGB ) and the LP level and I had my wrist slapped in a very polite way. But my experience with RGB imaging although limited taught me that the IDAS had to stay on the front of the FF/FR otherwise it was gradient galore.

A.G

Hi AB,

Make sure that whatever LPR filter you use make sure it blocks IR

Sent from my Fone