Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello from the Wirral

Psychology

Hi All

I have always had an interest in astronomy but never owned a telescope. I'm using binoculars at the moment to learn the sky, and have got myself a copy of Terence Dickinson's Nightwatch: A practical guide to viewing the universe which I am finding invaluable. I am also a keen photographer but after doing lots of research have decided to just stick to observing the sky at the moment, maybe astrophotography can come later!

I would like some advice, I have decided on either a skywatcher 150p dobsonian or the 200p dobsonian. I have a motorhome and  visit Cornwall every year and North Wales and the lake district quite often so was wondering how portable these scopes are? I also have a shed at the end of the garden, can the scope be stored in it without any problems?

Thanks

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to SGL - Glad that you found us and hope that you enjoy your time here. Perhaps you can find a local club so that you can go and see scopes in the flesh. I say that as folks often say that they are surprised at the size of some of these scopes. I'm sure a quick google search will throw up a local club.

Look forward to seeing you around :)

Welcome to SGL.

The 150 and 200 dob are both brilliant choices. As for portability, Im not too sure as I don't own one, but plenty of people do so a quick search will find out some info, or someone will post about them sooner or later. Keeping in the shed is fine, just put the caps on so you don't get anything living in your scope and your golden.

Asking about in the beginners section will probably yield some more helpful replies.

Matt.