Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Which barlow with a 5" scope ?

Kakadush

Hello all :) 

So i recently started doing planetary imaging with my ASI 120 + 5" Celestron 130 slt scope and i'm pretty happy with my progress however , i find that the size of the planets i capture is rather small (see attached image for reference) and i was wondering if using a higher power barlow would do any good.

Right now i am using a x2 barlow and i was thinking of getting a x3 or even a x4 but from what a gathered because my scope is rather small i might have problem focusing with higher power barlows , my questions are : 

*Will a higher power barlow incrase planet size and reveal more detail or will it be simply larger and blurry ? 

*Will it affect image resolution in any way ? 

*If not , should i get a x3 or x4 barlow ? 

The scopes mirror is 5" , the focal length is 650mm and the aperture is 130 mm (reflector).

I am new to this so any help would be much appreciated , thank you ! :) 

Dan.

post-42891-0-99119400-1427631598.png

Hi Dan,

If you took that image that's a great shot,  your scope's theoretical limit is 260x. That might be in nirvana but realistically c160 -200x will be your maximum.

Below a couple of pages to show you what you can expect to see. Just plug your scope data and eyepieces in and they do the work!

http://www.stargazing.net/naa/scopemath.htm

http://www.12dstring.me.uk/fov.htm         (remember to switch to visual view)

I see no reason that you couldn't go up to 4x if the image is bright enough, and I've certainly had quite acceptable results with the ASI120 at that kind of focal length with similar apertures.

What I might be tempted to do is to get the Revelation Astro 2.5x barlow which is very good considering that it's only about £40 and then experiment with different length extensions between the barlow and camera to increase the power.