Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Garden Pier :-)

JemC

Garden Pier :-)

Hi all,
i got the go ahead today to install a pier in the garden,so basically i'm after some info/advice, please bear with me as i am not technically brilliant :-)

i am limited to it's position unfortunately, this is partly due to the garden not being to big and the night sky views available,

post-35855-0-60236400-1427129544_thumb.j

post-35855-0-96868500-1427129580_thumb.j

post-35855-0-28170900-1427129606_thumb.j

post-35855-0-68235200-1427129657_thumb.j

post-35855-0-48484100-1427129730_thumb.j

post-35855-0-84895700-1427129765_thumb.j

i have LP but not a lot i can do about that other than just get on with it,

So my intensions are to have a pier that stands 3ft out of the ground as this height is the current height that i have my EQ5 and am happy with,

Any way before permission was withdrawn or minds where changed i have made a start on the area i am going to place the pier, luckily it is right outside my shed door,

post-35855-0-97279500-1427129851_thumb.j

If anyone can give advice/info good or bad on the following it would be very much appreciated,

at the moment i have dug a hole that is currently 2ft deep, i hit clay at 9 inch deep and am still in clay at 2ft? is this good or bad ?

How much deeper should i dig ?

What should the overall length of the pier be to give me the 3ft above ground ( i was looking at 5ft length)

What would be the best diameter of the pier to be ok for my 200p?

and i am sure there will be other questions along the way :smiley:

Regards

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Clay is what your house was built on. ;)

For an idea as to what it could look like check out this thread that has just appeared.

DIY Pier

One thing, ensure that your hole has straight vertical sides, important for any foundations.

Don't forget to factor in the thickness of your walk way material above ground when deciding on your final pier height.

Hi Jem,