Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Jupiter... is that you?

Yesterday, my oldest daughter Pferris and I made an effort to view a very bright star. Unfortunately the night was playing hide and seek with the rest if the sky, but we could see this one. So we took our chance. Wallace and Grommit, our 8" Newt and dob, came out.

After a bit of searching for it we found it. The 25mm 2" EP showed a tiny star. We changed to the 7mm X-Cel and after a bit of fussing Pferris found it. She says the star became a tiny bright disc. Its my understanding only planets look like discs. We think its Jupiter. Correct me if I'm wrong. I'm a newbie who needs education.

Due to the 22 below zero, not including the chill facter, ee viewed through the window. Not the best I'm told, but it had to do for now.

Today Pferris and I re-set the collimation and view finder. We are now waiting for "that star" to come about at night fall.

This is indeed a very entertaining hobby. Delicious even. Eye candy evety where.

Sorry to say but that sounds like you found a star, if it was Jupiter you would have seen

the bands and moons, Jupiter is unmistakable, especially through your 7mm eyepiece,

make sure you have aligned your finder scope, you should see the moons through that,

align your finder in daylight on an object, make sure it's at least a mile or so away, a

pylon or something like that. Jupiter will be the brightest object you can see, hope you get

to observe it, fingers crossed for a clear night soon, don't forget to post when you do.

Good luck and clear sky's, If you have a compass Jupiter will be towards the south east.

I figure you may be correct. Although the star looks like a small disc we could not make out any detail.

We did set the finder scope during the day. Question: it is an 8x50 raci and if I rotate the eye piece left/right does this alter the setting? It don't seem like it but I have to ask. We will adjust it again tomorrow.