Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Coma Correctors GSO(Revelation) vs Skywatcher units

The Revelation unit is similar to several others as discussed here

http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/222477-revalation-coma-corrector/

I would be interested to learn if other have compared this to the Skywatcher Coma Corrector?

I am considering one of these for use with a 16" F5 Newtonian.

The Skywatcher I gather is optimised for F5 scopes so in theory would be the best match.

The unit will be used for visual use only at Medium to medium/high powers 150 - 400x range

Thanks

Simon

A coma corrector desinged for, say F/4, will work perfectly well at f/5.  All newtonians have the same shaped mirrror, a parabelloid.  A f/5 is simply a stopped down f/4 or even f/3!

Thhe GSO com corrector works well visually for me at f/4.5 with the right (approximate) spacing.  I have no experience of the SkyWatcher product(s).

I hope this helps.

Coma will matter or figure in the application I will be using this scope for.

Though an F5 would not normally be used for Double star work as coma would affect the observations made the coma free field of an F5 scope is surprisingly small around ~ 1.4mm aprox in my 16" F5 scopes or around 2.3 arcminutes!!

looking at various Coma correctors available the skywatcher seems best optimised for an F5 system, however

Reading this link

http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/158529-astro-techaltair-astrogso-coma-corrector-and-user-guide/

Got me thinking, should I look for a used TV Paracor 1 as I will be using several types of EP and don't want to mess around with spacers.

The learning continues.

A coma corrector desinged for, say F/4, will work perfectly well at f/5.  All newtonians have the same shaped mirrror, a parabelloid.  A f/5 is simply a stopped down f/4 or even f/3!

Thhe GSO com corrector works well visually for me at f/4.5 with the right (approximate) spacing.  I have no experience of the SkyWatcher product(s).

I hope this helps.