SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

My First Experience.....

As a total newbie, I thought I would share my first experiences.

I am wondering about whether to buy a Telescope and have been lucky enough to borrow a telescope from a work colleague, a Celestron Astromaster 130EQ. He also bought it with a Neximage CCD 97312.

I think he has only used it a couple of times.

First thing I did was get it out, and put the OTA (I've even learnt some acronyms in a couple of days!!) on the mount. Unfortunately the plastic bracket on the mount has broken and he's just used some cable ties looped around to keep it in shape, unfortunately this means it's not to easy to get level.

Anyway after that I thought I needed to look at the manual, well it tells me what to do, but it's none too clear to me, and apparently to my work colleague either as it was neither balanced or was anywhere near the correct altitude (This was found out later).

So I put the manual down and took it out anyway, pointed it at the Moon and was very impressed with the view!!  That was my viewing for the night.

Next day I decided to utilise the internet to translate the instructions into plain English, luckily a couple of videos on Youtube helped really well, I found out what was actually being balanced and how it would show it was balanced. Then found out how to polar align, moved the scope from it's 20 degrees to somewhere near 52 degrees. I also tried installing the software onto my Windows tablet, found out the drivers were no good, but after a bit of hunting around I found found the Philips drivers and installed them, also found reference to a different capture software and updated stacking software. I also took it out during the day, pointed it a chimney and had a go at aligning the starpointer (despite already reading how useless it was). Unfortunately the weather was pretty poor so didn't go out.