Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Oo-ps! I broke it, but what to do next?

Let me start by saying I am a newbie. I bought a three month old Orion Optics VX8 in January, my first scope. Upgraded optics, synscan EQ5, I love it.

Last Saturday evening I was setting up on a gorgeously clear, very cold evening when the whole lot went down, first hitting the mirror cell end and the bouncing onto the focuser. Summary: a right-off!

Barry from Orion Optics was brilliant and wrote an accurate summary of the damage and the Insurance company have been fantastic, money will be in the bank for a replacement very soon.

I am itching to order a new one and hope to collect it next weekend, if it could be built that quickly. My only hesitation is that the list price increase for a VX10 is only £185. Aperture envy is kicking in and I have also seen some results of what this tube is capable of, which are tempting me.

My questions: is the extra aperture worth the uplift cost? Would I really see and image that much more with the extra 2"? Am I better off saying my money for some other inevitable spend?

I appreciate all comments and opinions.

From what I heard - 2" of aperture won't make a big difference. You would need to upgrade by 2-3" to see it clearly. Obviously, it will be there, but it might be much less then what you're expecting.

It might still be worth it depending on your circumstances. If you can handle a bigger, heavier OTA - why not. But then again - a 10" newtonian is a beast. I'm currently thinking of replacing my 8" newtonian with a 8" SCT just because taking it out is a huge logistics operation and I believe it causes me to go out stargazing less and less ( unfortunately I live in a flat ).

So, to sum up - be sure the extra weigth, price etc. are worth it, as I personally think you won't see much difference between 8 and 10" or aperture.