Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Which mount?

patohalmo

Hi, I'm new to all this but I did my research and read some books in the past year or so.

To the point:

My current setup consists of some own and some borrowed parts that I am/was trying out:

HEQ5 Pro mount & tripod (on loan)

SE6 OTA only (mine)

WO Megretz 72 APO (mine)

Canon 5D MkII (mine)

bits 'n bobs like star diagonals, filters, eye pieces, guide cam (Synguide stand alone), etc...

I'm biased towards deep sky imaging.

I do have an access to Takahashi FSQ 106 ED, C11 EDGE HD, WO FLT 110 APO as well as few other gadgets. I may actually end up with one of those scopes as my own, therefore I need a little help.

Now here's the question: I want to buy my own mount with tripod. Nothing wrong with HEQ5, but obviously I can't mount any of the 3 scopes above onto this side by side with the WO 72 as a guide.

So, which one of these mounts? iOptron 45, CGEM maybe EQ6? Any other options? Budget is limited to £1400 max (£1500 on a massive push, having beens on toast for a next 3 months as my whole day meal LOL)

I'm aware of the quality of those scopes and I know I need a good mount as that's the most important thing.

I have read a lot about all of them. I know the weights, the load capacity, etc...

Just wanted an opinion from you guys that have similar setups, had a chance to try these mounts and seen first hand how good/bad they are. Anything from ease of use, noise, ...

Thanks.

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks Olly.

I was thinking the same, just for the sake of the price. But I do like the iOptron due to it's weight and weight/load ratio. I'm not sure I will be setting permanent setup anytime soon, so the back garden / occasional travel is more likely.

However, I'm familiar with SW alignment and can do it pretty fast now.

Any other thoughts?

Thanks

What about the AZEQ6 even if you don't want to use it in az mode it seems to address some of the NEQ6 issues

Darren