Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

another - help me decide and choose thread!

first off, thank you so much in advance for any input/help regarding my questions. im sure theres a lot of people asking for the same help on here daily.

Im a beginner looking to do the following- view and get fairly decent photos of the planets in our solar system, as well as view and get some what decent photos of DSO's such as M31, Orion Neb, and some of the other closer* DSO's

ive done quit a bit of looking and research online but some assurance would help! I am currently looking at getting a Celestron VX-8 SCT.  I know this most likely wont get me the best views/photos of DSO's but right now im kinda trying to find a scope that will be an all around good scope for several things, not JUST interstellar and not JUST Deep Space.  so my question is.... is this a proper choice for me in a scope?

my other question is regarding astrophotography... along with a scope like the VX-8 SCT, what would be a good starter photography solution? my wife currently has a couple DSLRs, a canon 10D and a Rebel XT I believe.  would these give me just as good of photos as say... one of celestrons astrophotography solutions?  I understand more about telescopes so far then I do about how to capture good photos!  id hate to spend a bunch of money on an apogee or celestron camera when one of my wifes DSLRs would be just as good if not better. so any advice here would be much appreciated!

thanks to anyone who reads thru this and offers help my way! im really excited to get my first scope... finding objects with my binoculars has been very satisfying, I can only imagine what a good telescope will bring me!

firstly welcome to the forum,