Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

APT - Astrophotography Tool - Jupiter and DSO

MeSeany

Having just bought my Canon 1200D - which I intend to use for both planet and deep space photos - I thought it wise to download APT.

I choose APT over BackyardEOS since the reviews seemed to pitch APT at being harder and more involved but able to deliver more control etc - so I thought it worth my while investing my time into a piece of software that would pay dividends further down the line.

Hope you agree?

Rather than getting carried away Im going to stick with my current project - imaging Jupiter; being a beginner I thought this a good place to start.

I have a couple of questions re APT and hope someone can at least point me in the right direction:

1. Using Cannon as a web camera - imaging Jupiter - using Liveview

I've managed set the 2 basic paraments  - iso and exposure time - which I believe are the only 2 I need worry about when using the canon to image Jupiter.

I then set the nummber of images to say 1000 and click start and wait.

My issues are 2 fold here-

i. it seems to be saving the images as jpg - but Id prefer a 16 bit format for quality? Is jpg good enough for planetary if so Ill leave this setting alone if not which format would you recommend and how do I change it?

ii. once the images are taken - all 1000 of them - I cannot locate where APT stored them? I have a QHY webcam which will take 1000+ images and save the lot as a SER file - ie 1 file.

I want to take 1000 images of Jupiter with my Canon and download them into registax - but I think Im getting confused on how to capture 1000 with my canon and stack them later in registax.

2. Using Cannon for DSO later - taking say 35x 30sec shots

Is there a way to tell APT to take 35x 30sec shots?

Also - the Canon does have a manual mode - but Ive heard Id need the bulb mode for long exposures but I cannot see it on my 1200D? WIll the manual mode do?