Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello..

Davgt5

I suppose I better start with telling you what I actually know about astronomy. I can recognize The Big Dipper (The Plough (UK), when I see it. Sometimes I can point to the Pole star. Orions Belt, yep I'd recognize that too, stuff I learned at school decades ago and the Discovery channel. That about sums it up lol

So what am I doing here, well coming up to my 50th birthday my wife asked what I'd like as a present and I gave it a lot of thought and decided that I'd quite like a telescope, absolutely mad but it's something I've often thought of when at night looking up at beautiful clear skies just wondering..

My other hobby is I'm a very keen amateur photographer so my plan is to enjoy the sky at night but to combine the two eventually, so with this in mind and some homework we went and bought a Celestron C8 Edge-HD Advance VX GOTO and a few other bits and bobs.

In photography we have a term 'all the gear and no idea' which isn't really a compliment but this is where I am at the moment lol

Hope to learn fast

Davy

Hi Davey,

Welcome to SGL, make yourself at home and ask questions but contribute as well :grin: . Congratulations on your new scope. You have picked well, certainly for visual. Maybe not so well for imaging, but that depends on what you wish to image. If it is doubles, the moon  and planets you are laughing. If it is DSOs, not so good due to the long focal length of the scope  -f/10. Do not get too deflated by that bit. You will have loads of enjoyment visually.

Ian

Hi Davey,