Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New SW 200 PDS and NEQ6 Pro have arrived

I've had a life long interest in Astronomy and am a relative newbie to observing and an absolute novice when it comes to imaging. However, after much deliberating I finally got permission (with concessions) from  the financial director  and plucked up the courage to order a SW 200PDS and NEQ6 Pro from FLO. The scope and mount arrived the following day (great service from FLO :smiley: ) in 3 boxes and the combined weight was that of a small car :eek:

I was chomping at the bit to get everything unpacked but, alas, a pre arranged visit to my son and daughter-in-law delayed proceedings for 3 days. In the mean time I ordered the replacement Altitude and Azimuth bolts from Astro Developments, as I head read in a number of different forums that these are not up to the job and would bend in no time with the ensuing problem of removing them from the mount. I also paid a visit to Maplins and bought a 13.8V regulated power supply, some 6 amp cable, a couple 4mm banana plugs and a cigar lighter socket.

After returning from our weekend away my first task was to make up a lead with the cigar lighter socket so that I could connect the mount to the power supply. Now it was time to unpack everything. I unpacked the tripod and mount first and quickly assembled them using the centre accessory tray and bolt to secure everything. The Altitude and Azimuth adjustment bolts were not fitted at this point. They do indeed look very flimsy, especially when I compared them side by side with the replacements. These were quickly fitted and then used to set the mount approximately at my local latitude. The clutch of the RA and Dec axis were loosened and the mount slewed manually to check that everything was moving OK and there was no binding and all was OK.