Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello

I am new to astronomy. I have my telescope last Christmas. Its a skywatcher 200p. I can find the jupiter with my 10mm eyepiece but all I see it a white ball with its white moons. How can I see the rings? I bought a celestron xcell 2.3mm thinking its strong enough but cant see a thing. Like I said I am very new. Which eyepiece would be good too see the belts. I am thinking to get a televue nagler 3.5 as cant afford ethos but would that be like my xcel 2.3mm. I dont want to waste anymore money. Thanks.

I have a 200p Dob and the 10mm usually works okay - I also have an 8mm BST which is pushing my scope to the limit with Jupiter unless the seeing is impeccable. I did try a 5mm a while back and could see nothing to exchanged it for the 8. Would not bother with anything lower. I also have a 17mm EP and that gives some great views, although a bit small - but I can still see the planetary bands on Jupiter. I have been able to see the Great Red Spot and moon transitions as well.

The EPs you mention (I think) are probably too much for the scope and way above the maximum useful magnification. I, personally, would not buy a smaller EP than my 8mm now, regardless of the make/price. Others may disagree of course!

I think the problem is the seeing and the bands appear and disappear as you view it. I think most people would agree that you need to spend time on Jupiter (and other planets) to get the best out of them. The atmosphere you are peeking through will make the quality of the view change constantly, so you have to be watching for more than a few seconds to catch those fleeting moments when it comes into view.

Check your focus, adjust it really slowly - it is not a subtle focusser on the stock 200p and take your time with it. If you have a Bhatinov mask try using that to focus on a bright star and then slew over to Jupiter, you should be ready to go then.

Don't give up, it is fantastic when you get it right!