SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

GOTO precision?

Hi

I hope this is not a silly question but how precise should the image fall in the eyepiece view (26 mm) with a GOTO scope? Would one always expect the object to appear within the field or would it be occassionally slightly 'off'?

I've just received a Meade LS 6 and have spent some time 'setting it up ', e.g., training drives/making certain the scope/eclipse camera are centred.

I am new to this other than having very limited experience many years ago with an ETX125 so I hope this is not a silly question.

Many thanks

Thank you for your reply.

I've been fiddling with the scope for a couple of weeks when the sky was clear. I have had problems with the automatic alignment system. It appears to align the 2 stars reasonably but then when asked to go to, say Jupiter, it is out of the field of the 26 mm eyepiece.

Last night, in freezing wind!, I started with a perfectly level tripod and calibrated the eclipse finder camera with the scope. I think this has improved things in that virtually everything I looked for in the 'Best of night' menu appeared within the eyepiece although in some cases distinctly not central.

If it clears tonight-and the wind drops-I'll give it another go but I do intend to persevere. I must admit that I am leaning towards an 8 inch scope as I really do enjoy (and did in the past) looking at the sky. Unfortunately I cannot find anybody in my locality who can help: the astronomy clubs are some distance away.

Many thanks for your input. It gives me a guide, and is very much appreciated.

I used to have problems with my scope, although it wasnt the scope that was the problem, it was me!