SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Had a go at the orion nebula last night

I took 45 30s exposures at iso 800 

The moon was washing out everything but the clouds were gone so i thought why not.

I had to use a sky watcher light pollution filter so my image is a little purple but trying to remove this reduced the detail.

5 darks and 2 flats(still havent found a good way of doing them yet)

i like it though and is much better than my last attempt.

any tips would be great.

post-40820-0-82998200-1422967276_thumb.j

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Bill, great picture - it is really rewarding when something appears on screen from all those images. It is obviously a little blown in the core and there still seems to be some vignetting which should be controlled by the flats (I think, I'm still learning!!!) - unless that appeared during processing?

I have the SW LP filter as well, and was taking images at 1600ISO at 60 seconds and they weren't quite as blown in the core as yours - so maybe the Moon was having a bad impact on the images. Definitely worth trying again when she is out of the way in a couple of weeks.

The next thing to do is take some shorter exposures to bring out the detail in the core. You can then stack two sets of images and blend them together in PS or GIMP to counter the over-blown central part of the image.

I had a go at this in this post - http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/235224-getting-there-step-by-step-orion/

Still a long way to go for me, but it's a lot of fun.....except when there are nothing but clouds in the sky!

What do you use for stacking and processing? I've been using DSS and GIMP, so happy for you to PM me if you have any specific questions about what I have been playing around with!