Narrowband

Blooming on NGC 3324. Is this something that can be dealt with through post processing?

Hi all,

I have been using itelescope.net to learn about astrophotography. Obviously I'm quite the beginner here, but on the T9 camera in Siding Springs the telescope information suggests that stars will bloom on exposures above 120 sec. I set it to take 3 frames each of luminance, Red, Green, Blue, Ha and Oiii at 90 sec each, but was still left with some pretty drastic blooming on one star in particular. 

Here is a luminance layer which i have stretched in Photoshop to bring out the details.. Im VERY pleased that the nebulosity of the clouds has shown up so well, but the white stripe has annoyed me somewhat. 

post-11973-0-06468100-1422808260_thumb.j

What say you fellow astronomers? Do any of you have any expertise in this area? 

Im hoping that one of you will laugh at my beginner chops and hand me a solution!

Thanks,

Ianladd

Hi,

The white strip is blooming. This normally occurs when the charge generated overflows and overcomes the anti blooming system of the sensor.

If you stick with the same sensor - you'll need to reduce the light, or reduce the exposure time - then use the bloom as a mask so that the white bloom is replaced with data from a second set of images..

Nick

then use the bloom as a mask so that the white bloom is replaced with data from a second set of images..

Would this be possible in Photoshop? Also, I have some of the Red Green and Blue Subs that I need to look at. Would it be possible to use them as a mask to replace the white bloom data in the image?

Apologies.. I'm a bit of a noob at this.

You may well have been using a scientific camera without anti-blooming gate. These have a more truly linear response than the cameras amateurs use to take aesthetic images. They tend to be particularly good in narrowband.