Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Wide eyepiece for nebula on 200P - suggestions wanted please

As a noob, I have been scanning around for the Rosette, Heart and Soul Nebulae (among others), not realising that even with the supplied 25mm eyepiece on my Skywatcher 200p dob, the 48x is putting the edges of those nebulae beyond the FOV.  Using Stellarium and an online FOV calculator, it looks like even a 40mm EP would be pushing it, to enclose their edges on the 200P.

What would you recommend please, and if I go as wide as 40mm and beyond, are there many other DSOs to see and do they work OK with f5.9?

Budget: not a lot...£50? Still interested to hear all suggestions though!

To purchase new and so get it now you are looking at a 32mm plossl or the 25mm BST Starguider.

Both will deliever more or less exactly the same field, the plossl should be a little more but not by a lot.

The Vixen NPL 30mm is £45 and with the numbers given would give the same field as the 25mm BST.

The plossl may deliver a bit brighter object but a little smaller.

Not sure about 2" eyepieces, they tend to cost more but something like a used WO 40mm SWAN would give a 2.8 degree field, but when one appears is anyone's guess. Actualluy ignore WO SWANS, not good on f/5 scopes. But it is an example.

Thanks for these replies.  Very helpful.

Going to 2" would mean a second set of any filters, though I only have the Bader Neodymium at present.  Would a 2" eyepiece be inherently better for seeing a desired 2 or 3' FOV, £ for £?

2" eyepieces are the only way to get the wider fields of view. There is a pysical limit to how wide a field an eyepiece can deliver and that is limited by the diameter of the eyepiece barrel.

A 32mm 1.25" eyepiece with your scope will show a 1.39 degree true field. In the 2" size the same focal length eyepiece can show a true field of 2.13 degrees - more than 50% wider.