Narrowband

a couple of questions regarding focusing/focal length and guiding

JR1987

Im new to the world of observing and imaging, but learning quickly. I have a fairly basic set up of a Skywatcher 130mm with 900mm focal length (not sure of the official model number) with an equatorial mount, and camera-wise I have a Canon EOS 100d. (and a few upgraded eyepieces and what not)

when doing/(learning) my prime focus photography I came across the common problem I already had heard of, which was not being able to focus the camera unless I included a barlow. This works fine.. however when trying some basic lunar stuff the other night, I couldn't even fit the whole moon into the image.. which must because of the barlow. Is there any way around this? 

and a quick question on guiding..i had a go at taking some photos of Orion, they could have been ok for a first time photographer but as best as I could to try and align to polaris i couldn't get exposures of longer that about 10 seconds before the starts started to drag out of focus.. I'm sure its probably down to fine manoeuvres when aligning.. but I've been reading about guiding software on here.. (I'm assuming AstroTortilla is a guiding software?) but I'm confused how this would work.. I have a motor that came with my scope but do you need a special kind of motor drive when using guiding software? 

any feedback is most appreciated!  :smiley:

I have same issue. Im going to try unscrewing the lens from the barlow and screwing it to my t.mount and adapter next time as i believe that reduces the magnification a little As it brings the sensor a few mm closer to the focal plane.

Hi there i had the exact same problem. There is a work around i found to get the whole moon in shot.

It was quite risky though sorta...

I removed the barlow from my t ring adaptor, unscrewed the ring on my focuser and rested the dslr on to the threads of the focuser tube. 

Then carefully got focus with the tube screwed right in.