Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Pleiades and comet Lovejoy first attempt (untracked) plus questions

Gambero

Hi everyone!

This is one of my first attempts in astrophotography (the first decent one). Suggestions and comments are more than welcome!

http://www.astrobin.com/full/151694/0/

Technical details:

Taken from my backyard (Oxford, UK)

Canon 70D

18-135mm STM @ 50mm f/5.6

light: 180x5s, ISO 3200

dark: 60x5s

bias: 41x1/8000s

no flats

untracked

Processing:

Stacked with DSS (no drizzle). Gradient removal, stretching and curves in PS.

I am not new to astronomy and I currently own a C11 on the NEQ6. The problem is that I have no access to my equipment: I moved to the UK from Italy a couple of years ago and my telescope is still at home. I do not have a car here so I prefer to leave it there for the moment. Nevertheless, I am new to astrophotography and I would like to buy a tracking mount to have fun here in the UK. I currently own a Canon 70D, the 18-135 kit lens and a Manfrotto 190 tripod. I am looking to spend about 300£: everything has to be very portable because (again) I do not have a car and I can only move by bike!

I was thinking about the Skywatcher Star Adventurer: what do you think about it? Can it support a small refractor (future plans...)? What is the maximum exposure without guiding? Thank you for your help.

Clear skies!

Hi