Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

focusing on Jupiter

I am fairly new to this hobby and I am having difficulty getting Jupiter in clear focus. I have a Skywatcher 130 explorer and several lenses including a 25 mm plossl and a 5 mm BST starguider plus a 2x Barlow. The problem is that I can't see any detail I.e. the different coloured bands which I would to expect to see. I can see 4 of the moons of Jupiter. I have also tried an IR filter and a moon glow filter and a combination of the two.

I have also converted a lifecam webcam and again I can see the moons but Jupiter is just a blob. Do I need to collinmate the scope or is there something else.

Any help would be appreciated

Jake

With my celestron 130, Jupiter is a large disc, with some detail on a night with very good seeing, but you will never see it the same as in the books. If I use a 9.8mm and 2x barlow, on a very good night I can se bands if I relax my eyes and allow them to 'see' for a while - but I found it it takes quite a bit of practice

Hello Jake. A good tip for focusing on Jupiter is to at first focus on the moons, once they are the smallest points of light Jupiter should also be in focus. You will not see much in the way of colour on Jupiter with a 130mm aperture. A 5mm eyepiece should easily show you the two main cloud belts, to check your collimation defocus Jupiter and the black dot in the image should be central, if not then collimation is required. If you can see the moons with your lifecam then Jupiter will be over exposed and not show any detail. You need to up the magnification or reduce the exposure, failing that try a ND filter.  :smiley:

I find less is more with Jupiter, through my 10"SCT it is a blurry blob but through an 80mm f/9 refractor I can see the bands.

Dave

Is that a focal length issue rather than a aperture one. I guess the SCT will have a much higher magnification, thus requiring better seeing - no?