Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello from Beverley

Newbie2stargazing

Hello from Beverley, East Yorkshire. I am a beginner and want to understand more about stargazing. I bought the Celestron 31153 Skyprodigy 130 Reflector Telescope because it's supposed to be easy for beginners like me.

I've only had 2 attempts so far and have failed miserably. :embarassed:

I followed the instructions, pressed the ALIGN button and it moves across the sky as if everything is going smoothly............but I haven't managed to get the 'Alignment Complete' message. I used the hand control to find the moon and it couldn't find it. :sad:

Realising that nothing was where it was supposed to be (the telescope wasn't aligned as it should be), I picked up the tripod and manually moved the telescope to get the moon in view. I saw the moon in my telescope and it was lovely......but I want my telescope to work as it should.

If anyone can help me, I'd be very grateful.

Thanks

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Beverley, welcome to the forum.  If you still cannot get it sorted see if there is a local astronomy club that may possible be able to help you.   I thought these 'Skyprodigy's' were supposed to do everything for you!  Just shows what misleading advertising does!

Hello and welcome. I lived in Beverley up until last summer when i moved down to Wiltshire :-). There is an astro club in Beverley. I visited it once. I think they meet weekly at the Friends Meeting house on Quaker lane. 

Hi Beverley, welcome to the forum.  If you still cannot get it sorted see if there is a local astronomy club that may possible be able to help you.   I thought these 'Skyprodigy's' were supposed to do everything for you!  Just shows what misleading advertising does!

Thanks for the advice. My name isn't Beverley.................I was saying Hello from Beverley (the town) in East Yorkshire.