Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Working with Star Tools – From Nikon D7100 to DSS to Star Tools – Advice?

Good morning everyone,

I’m relatively new to astrophotography but have been a photographer of terrestrial objects for a few years now.  Even since I was a little boy, I’ve always been fascinated with astronomy and anything that is far above our heads.  I decided to take the plunge into astrophotography and bought myself an Ioptron Skytracker.

So far I’ve managed to get some good shots of galaxies and even comet Lovejoy, but I feel I could improve my images with Star Tools.  My images feel too blocky and over-processed.

The Orion Nebula:

http://www.captureminnesota.com/photos/1658443

Comet Lovejoy:

http://www.captureminnesota.com/photos/1655678

My normal routine is to shoot light frames, dark frames, and bias frames (all in raw: Nikon NEF) and then import them into my computer to be stacked with Deepskystacker (DSS).  I made a discovery: DSS does not like the size of my NEF files.  I tried numerous times to stack my shots, but it’d always run out of memory despite my computer being built for intense photo processing.  I tried many different settings (and yes, I left the dreaded drizzle off!) with no avail until I did some research on the cameras other people were using.  I discovered that since I use a Nikon D7100 24 MP camera shooting 6,000 x 4,000 size files, it was essentially slogging up DSS.  I remedied this by first going to Lightroom, converting the files to a 16 bit Tiff, and then resizing to 85% of their size and then importing them into DSS.