Narrowband

Still unsure !!

Hello folks

Its a bit long winded so i apologise in advance !

As a total newbie i joined SGL last November to seek advice on buying my first scope, i decided to go for the Skywatcher Startravel 120 refractor , but was unsure of which mount to choose eq or alt-az., my choice was based on portability and no need for collimation. I also decided not to buy anything until i had read on fellow members advice " making every photon count " which i now have. I was aware through previous research that this scope was prone to chromatic abberation , but having never veiwed anything through this scope i did not think it would bother me , i finally decided on the above scope on an EQ5 Deluve mount .

My initial interests would be to get some great views of whatever was within reach, with the future prospect of trying to capture some iimages as my learning curve grew bigger , as i already have a good dslr .

I was looking on SGL earlier on this week and notice a post from a newbie on a fixed budget (like myself) wanting to go down the refractor route (like myself) he needed some feedback . Well one of the replies really made me take notice ,he was saying that the newbie should be considering his main objectives on why he want to buy a scope and what he would be using it for in a years time , also he said he probabley should consider a scope in his budget with a bgger aperture ( as aperture is king) well this got me thinking " am i going down the wrong path here"? Bigger aperture means clearer images, collimation over Chromatic abberation ! Collimation cant be that difficult to learn ! .

So now i have been looking at the Skywatcher 200p Newtonian on an EQ5 mount, im aware that there are no motor drives, but its something that i ould consider adding/ upgrading to in the future when and if my interest grows. So your thoughts on this combo please !