Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

my first telescope

Jason_Paul_Greene

Hello my name his Jason Greene. I am new to star gazing. And got my first telescope a dynasun 76x700 reclecter telescope I have seen the moon with it. But having problems with planets. I Troyes to view Jupiter but all I'm getting his a white bright dot and when I focus it all I can see his a dot and nothing else could some one please help me. His it my telescope xxx

Not sure is the first answer.

I am assuming that it came with 2 eyepieces usually a 20mm or 25mm and a 10mm.

With the longer one you will be getting 35x or 28x.

You would see Jupiter, it would be small and it might be bright enough that the total light just swamps the image so it is a bright "white" featureless disk.

With the shorter one you will be getting 70x and that will show Jupiter and a couple of bands.

Are you sure it is Jupiter that you are looking at?

There is no mention of any of the moons and they would be in view and usually get a mention.

The not so good news:
The supplied eyepieces are usually poor, an 8mm or 10mm plossl may make a huge difference, better a 15mm plossl and you should get better views and a bit of width and magnification.

The scope is I think a spherical mirror but at f/9.2 should not be significant.

Finally it may need collimation - all mirrors tweeked to get them aligned. This one may be a case of unless you are sure it is required then leave it as it is.

With a bit of selection you should see a number of objects, it is a case of picking things that are suitable.

This scope comes with 3 eyepieces 4mm -12,5mm 20mm the 4mm is not really worth using as it just give a fuzzy view I found the 12.5 best.

This scope is fairly limited so don't expect too much, there are things to see with it, I saw Jupiter and 4 moons with mine ( but they are small)