Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

2" Barrel

I am in the process of upgrading my eps.  My short-term goal is 3 eps - 6mm Delos, 13mm Nagler T6, and 26-ish mm.  The low power eps that I am interested in have 2" barrels and the medium and high power eps have 1.25" barrels.  I don't care to purchase new 2" filters, so, I guess my question is - would one typically be using the 26mm ep over the other two to view any of the nebulae or any other objects that are enhanced with a filter?  Alternatives? 

Keep in mind that I am a rookie!

Scope is a 10" Dob f4.7

Thanks

Nice telescope, and WELCOME to SGL. :)

I'm not a filter user, but typically there is much hype about 2" EPs. I use my one and only, for immersion wide field use, ie get more in. But some of the v/good 1.25" can have even wider fields. (I love my 2" 32mm EP)

The problems with nebulae for me, is that no matter what, visually I will never see the colour that can be gleaned from AstroPhotography, our human eyes simply don't transpose the wavelengths.

If you are looking to use filters for whatever reason visually, apart from LP reducing I wouldn't bother, however for AP........with a big Dob I still wouldn't bother, the mount is not designed for AP.

With a 10", I would look for even shorter, 32 - 40mm 2"EP for an immersive  wander around the sky.

Proto Star, I'm just interested in viewing, for now.  Later on, I might get a different scope for AP.  Yeah, from what little experience I have, the UHC filter doesn't produce dramatic results.  However, I've only used it on a couple of objects. 

What are some good 1.25" LP eps with wide fields?  I don't have an abundance of cash, but don't mind spending a little to get good quality.

UHC and O-III filters are very effective on some nebulae - dramatically so on a few such as the Veil nebula.