SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

LRGBHa workflow - am I on the right lines?

Hi all,

I am just getting started with DSLR imaging, but in the cloudy nights of the last 6 weeks, I was tempted to open an iTelescope account and try some LRGB imaging, with a Ha thrown in for good measure. I set up an imaging run pointing at M42 and downloaded the files an hour or so later. I have had a go at processing in PS (CC) and have come up with a reasonable (for me) image as a first draft. However, I suspect my workflow is inefficient to say the least, so I would appreciate any comments.

1. Download all images as FITS files. These are already calibrated. The R,G,B and Ha are binned x2

2. Stack each channel separately in DSS, using 1 of the L images as a reference frame.

3. Save as a FITS file. I need to do this so that I can get an acceptable stretch using FITS Liberator. If I save as a TIFF, I can't seem to stretch satisfactorily in PS. It gets very spiky very quickly. Any advice here would be very welcome. I suspect longer subs would help.

4. Stretch using FITS Liberator using a log (log) profile, and save as a TIFF

5. Resize the colour channels to be the same size as the Lum channel

6. Tweak the alignment manually

7. Add layer adjustments to each of the colour layers and reduce the unused colours to zero. I will also try doing this in the channels, but I figured this way would give me more control.

8. Set the colour layers to screen mode, and the Lum layer to Luminosity

9. Tweak the curves of each layer to taste. I am still in the process of trying to get the colour balance correct, I suspect working with the colours in channels would be better for this.

10. The Lum layer is made up of 240s subs. I also have a 30s layer to blend into it when I have time.